domingo, 14 de junho de 2009

The Vitruvian Woman Video Installation

The Vitruvian Woman Video Installation at Formverk Art Space

The Vitruvian Woman

The Vitruvian Woman is a multimedia sculpture created by 34 artists from around the world. Inspired by Leonardo da Vinci’s sketch; The Vitruvian Man, which idealises the classic proportions of the human body, in his case the male body, The Vitruvian Woman sets out to trace the multidimensionality of womanhood in a flow of five three-minute video sequences reflecting the nine bodily regions: the head, heart, stomach, sexual organ, right arm, left arm, left leg, right leg and feet.

This poetry of dismemberment screened on nine monitors draws on diverse chapters of female identity, from scenes of domestic life to the sensibilities of lingerie and lust. Allegories of the flesh and a male beaten to pulp add to the shaky image of female empowerment as it alternately pins its hope on Buddhist mantra and surrenders to the flux of collective consciousness.

Kim Wyon
Genova, Italy

The Vitruvian Woman is an off spring of The Exquisite Corpse Video Project.


2009 | December 14 – 23 | Video Installation at Video Dia Loghi 2009, Video festival, Torino, Italy
2009 |
March 14 – April 19 | Debut Screening at Formverk Art Space, Eskilstuna, Sweden

Online presentation for curators; contact Michael Chang on


Press Release | Formverk, Eskilstuna | 2009-03-07


34 artists from 15 countries

Aditi Kulkarni, (India)
Alberto Guerreiro (Portugal)
Alexandra Buhl (Denmark)
Alicia Felberbaum (United Kingdom)
Alison Williams (South Africa)
Ambuja Magaji (USA)
Anders Weberg (Sweden)
Anica Vucovik (Serbia)
Arthur Tuoto (Brazil)
Brad Wise (USA)

Bruno Penteado (Brazil) & Henrique Cartaxo (Brazil)
Christy Walsh (USA)
Dave Swensen (USA)
Debbie Douez (Canada)
Igor Amin (Brazil)
Irina Gabiani (Luxembourg)
Jan Kather (USA)
Joas Sebastian Nebe (Germany)
Joy Whalen (USA)
Kai Lossgott (South Africa)
Kika Nicolela (Brazil)
Michael Chang (Denmark) & Melanie Chilianis (Australia)
Niclas Hallberg (Sweden)
Per E Riksson (Sweden)
Renata Padovan (Brazil)
Ronee Hui (United Kingdom)
Stina Pehrsdotter (Sweden)
Simone Stoll (Germany) & Anthony Siarkiewicz (USA)

Ulf Kristiansen (Norway)
Uma Ray (India)
Willy Darko (Italy)

Nenhum comentário: